Winners of the 40th Cairo International Film Festival  (CIFF) were announced last night at the Cairo Opera House during the closing ceremony.  Awards were divided into four categories: The International film competition, New Horizons for Arab cinema competition, Critics Weed and Al-Ghad Cinema competition, and the newly included Best Arab competition with a prize worth $15,000.

Due to technical voting difficulties resulting in an insufficient number of public votes, The Gomhour Award (worth $20,000) was instead awarded to The Golden Pyramid winner.

Full List of Winners

International Competition

The Golden Pyramid for best film: A Twelve-Year Night, by Álvaro Brechner (Uruguay, Argentina, Spain)

The Silver Pyramid, Special Jury Prize for best director: Manta Ray, by Phuttiphong Aroonpheng (Thailand, France, China) and Donbass, by Sergei Loznitsa (Germany, Ukraine, France)

The Bronze Pyramid for Best First or Second work of a director: Obey,by Jamie Jones (UK)

Prize for Best Actress: Zsófia Szamosi for One Day, by Zsófia Szilágyi (Hungary)

Prize for Best Actor: Sherif Desoky for EXT. Night, by Ahmad Abdalla El Sayed (Egypt)

Best Artistic Contribution: The Third Wife, by Ash Mayfair (Vietnam)

Naguib Mahfouz Prize for Best Script:Birds of Passage, by Cristina Gallego, Ciro Guerra
Script by Maria Camila Arias, Jacques Toulemonde Vidal (Colombia, Denmark, Mexico)

Best Horizons of Arab Cinema Competition

Arab Film Prize, Presented by TikTok (15.000$): Poisonous Roses, by Ahmed Fawzy Saleh (Egypt)

Salah Abu Seif Prize (Special Jury Prize): Poisonous Roses, by Ahmed Fawzy Saleh (Egypt)

Saad Eldin Wahba Prize for Best Arab Film: Fatwa, by Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud (Tunisia)

Cinema of Tomorrow Short Film Competition

Special Mention: A Fishers’ Recall (Colombia) and Dark Chocolate (Egypt)

The Special Jury Prize: She (Kosovo, France)

Youssef Chahine Prize for Best Short Film: Brotherhood (Canada, Tunisia, Sweden)

The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) Award:Poisonous Roses (Egypt)

International Film Critics’ Week

Fathy Farag Prize for Best Artistic Contribution: Erased,____ Ascent of the Invisible, by Ghassan Halawani (Lebanon)

Shadi Abdel Salam Prize for Best Film: Aga, by Milko Lazarov (Bulgaria, Germany, France)

FIPRESCI Award – In memory of Samir Farid: A Twelve-Year Night, by Álvaro Brechner (Uruguay, Argentina, Spain)

The festival was held from 20-29 November 2018, presided by the award-winning Egyptian screenwriter Mohamed Hefzy, the youngest president in the festival’s history.